Three Vespers from All-Night Vigil

There are many educational DVDs about wind band technique. However, it is unusual to find a score for a new wind band arrangement that accompanies an educational DVD series. This beautiful Rachmaninov/Salzman score is used to illustrate several points on the PALS DVD, "Responsibilities for the Ensemble". The music is utilized in a creative manner that will help conductors directly apply the lessons of the DVD to sensitive ensemble playing. And, those who purchase the work will have a new original scoring of an important new work for wind band. Don't miss the education benefits that will follow from the purchase of this wonderful new arrangement and DVD series.

Three Vespers from the All-Night Vigil (ID: PASC-0801)
Composer: Sergey Vasilievich Rachmaninov
Arrangement: Timothy Salzman
Publication year: 2008
Format: 212 x 297 mm

Price: $100.00
International shipping: $45.00
Total Amount: $145.00

>>> Japanese page

>>>Look at How to Purchase page

Product Details

Instrumentation: standard concert band (list following)
Full score and parts
Composer: Sergey Vasilievich Rachmaninov
Arrangement: Timothy Salzman

The 1st movement: Blagoslovi,Dushe Moya
The 2nd movement: Svete Tikhyi
The 3rd movement: Bogoroditse Devo

Part detail:
Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe 1
Oboe 2
English Horn
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2
Contra Bassoon
Clarinet in Bb 1
Clarinet in Bb 2
Clarinet in Bb 3
Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
Horn 1
Horn 2
Horn 3
Horn 4

Trumpet in Bb 1
Trumpet in Bb 2
Trumpet in Bb 3
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Bass Trombone
String Bass

Suspended Cymbal
Bass Drum/Tamtam

The hauntingly beautiful All-Night Vigil by Sergei Rachmaninov is one of the great sacred choral treasures of the 20th century. This lush and virtuosic masterpiece, for unaccompanied chorus in its' original form, captures both the spirit of the Orthodox Church and the soul of Russia. For the original choral setting Rachmaninov chose fifteen major psalms and hymns that form the unchanging framework of the Resurrection Vigil. The sublimely peaceful chant-based music was Rachmaninoff's reaction to the destruction of Europe during World WarI, and is widely recognized as the finest of the composer's, and Russia's, sacred choral compositions. In this arrangement by Timothy Salzman three of the fifteen movements have been set for the concert band: Mvt.II "Blagoslovi,Dushe Moya", mvt.IV "Svete Tikhyi", and mvt.VI "Bogoroditse Devo". Each is beautifully scored and serves as an excellent performance work as well as a worthwhile study in blend, intonation, balance and sensitive musical phrasing. The slow tempi allow the players great opportunity to develop their critical listening and performing skills. Each band that studies, rehearses and performs this work will receive a great dividend in terms of their overall approach to musical performance.
To hear the work sample, click the following:
The 1st movement: Blagoslovi,Dushe Moya
The 2nd movement: Svete Tikhyi
The 3rd movement: Bogoroditse Devo

Timothy Salzman

Timothy Salzman is Professor of Music at the University of Washington where he serves as Director of Concert Bands and is conductor of the University Wind Ensemble. He also teaches students enrolled in the graduate instrumental conducting program. Former students from the University of Washington occupy positions at numerous universities and public schools throughout the United States. Prior to his appointment at the UW he served as Director of Bands at Montana State University where he founded the MSU Wind Ensemble. From 1978 to 1983 he was band director in the Herscher, Illinois, public school system where the band program received several regional and national awards in solo/ensemble, concert and marching band competition. Professor Salzman holds degrees from Wheaton (IL.) College (Bachelor of Music Education), and Northern Illinois University (Master of Music in low brass performance), and studied privately with Arnold Jacobs, former tubist of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. He has numerous publications for bands with the C. L. Barnhouse, Arranger's Publications, Columbia Pictures and Hal Leonard Publishing companies, and has served on the staff of new music reviews for the Instrumentalist magazine. Professor Salzman is a national artist/clinician for the Yamaha Corporation of America and has been a conductor, adjudicator or arranger for bands in over thirty-five states, Canada, England, South Korea, Indonesia, Thailand, Russia, China, and Japan, a country he has visited twenty times. He is compiling editor and co-author(with several current and former UW graduate students) of A Composer's Insight: Thoughts, Analysis and Commentary on Contemporary Masterpieces for Wind Band, a new series of books on contemporary wind band composers published by Meredith Music Publications, a subsidiary of the Hal Leonard Corporation.

Sergei Vasilievich Rachmaninoff

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943) was a Russian composer, pianist, and conductor. He was one of the finest pianists of his day and, as a composer, the last great representative of Russian late Romanticism in classical music. Early influences of Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and other Russian composers gave way to a thoroughly personal idiom which included a pronounced lyricism, expressive breadth, structural ingenuity and a tonal palette of rich, distinctive orchestral colors. The piano figures prominently in Rachmaninoff's compositional output, either as a  solo instrument or as part of an ensemble. He made it a point, however, to use his own skills as a performer to explore fully the expressive possibilities of the instrument. Even in his earliest works, he revealed a sure grasp of idiomatic piano writing and a striking gift for melody.

>>>Look at How to Purchase page